Tags

, , , , , , ,

This is a continuation of my Travel Tips series.  You can find Travel Tips I and Travel Tips II by clicking on the links.  And don’t forget to follow me and my blog.

Tip #9 Take products that can be used for multiple purposes

Take products that you can use for different things.

  • Shampoo can be used as a laundry detergent.  Shampoo can also be used as a body wash.
  • Shave with hair conditioner.
  • Vaseline can be used for chap stick as well as eye makeup remover.
  • Band-aids make great tape if you are in desperate need.
  • Dryer sheets in your suitcase keep you clothes fresh.  They also can remove deodarant stains by rubbing the stain with one.
  • A scarf!  A scarf can serve many purposes: A pillow, a clothing accessory, a head wrap, a shaw, a skirt, a blanket, …
  • Moist towelettes!  Need I say more?  They can be used for pretty much anything!

I am sure that there are many, many more.  What are some things that you use for double duty?

Tip #10 Label your bottleswpid-20140415_174157.jpg

I do not go out and buy the products that I regularly use in travel-size bottles.  I use bottles that I have saved and put my regular-sized products into these travel-sized bottles.  Then I break out my label-maker (I love, love, love my label maker!) and make a label for the travel-sized bottle that way I know what that “white stuff” is in my Hampton Inn shampoo bottle because I know it’s not the Hampton Inn shampoo!  Check out the picture above.  The green strip on the bottle is my label.

Tip #5 Shower Cap Your Shoes         20140415_173207

I just noticed in my last post that I did not put up Tip #5!  So, here it is!

“Shower Cap” your shoes.  I am a “slight” germaphobe, so the thought of putting my shoes that I have worn all day into my suitcase with my clean clothes gives me the “willies”!  What I do is shake some baby powder in the shower cap then put my shoes in and sprinkle some baby powder in the soles of the shoes (Gotta keep the smell down!).

20140512_103701

This always happens to me when I am abroad; I forget batteries or I don’t pack enough!  I try to only use things that take rechargeable batteries, but sometimes it’s just easier to grab some alkaline and go.  20140512_103732

 

Raise your hand if you have ever had your luggage lost by the airlines and you have been left without fresh clothes for a few days.  It is one of the worst feelings ever!  I always pack a change of clothing that includes shirt, pants, underwear, toothbrush, hairbrush, and makeup.  Even if my luggage is not lost it is always good to have a change of clothes so you can freshen up while waiting on luggage to begin your travels.

20140512_103744

 

I always like to know everything I possibly can before I go somewhere, so I will do research and take notes before hand.  I will check out guidebooks that have been written on destinations to get a better idea of what to expect.  I love Rick Steves Europe Through the Back Door 2015: The Travel Skills Handbook
He has them on just about every destination possible and gives lots of insightful information.

I hope this sheds some light on packing and gives you some good tips for a better trip!

Safe Travels,

Jessica